Video Editing: Screencasting & e-Portfolios

I’ve worked with video production minimally in the past, so I wasn’t too intimidated by this project. I decided to use Windows Live Movie Maker as I use a PC and, while I do think that iMovie tends to have more professional-grade features (in my opinion), I knew WLMM would be more intuitive and convenient for me as a PC and Windows user.

Professional e-Portfolios: Compare and Contrast from Erica Russell on Vimeo.

Overall, I found screencasting itself to be pretty easy and actually quite fun after a little trial and error. My favorite challenge from this assignment was using Screencast-O-Matic in an engaging and visually appealing way while looking at the two portfolios I examined; being able to simply showcase two portfolio sites while keeping it interesting proved to be very satisfying. Admittedly, my least favorite challenge from the assignment was trying to find a good pace of speech for my voice-over, as I found myself doing multiple takes in order to get my narration to a place that I liked.

I think video editing and screencasting skills can definitely come in handy in order to showcase visual media skills, which I think are becoming more and more valued in the workplace. Anyone working with media or communication in particular can certainly utilize these skills and software, since they exemplify certain creative and digital competencies that are valued in these fields and industries. Creatively, I think video media content such as tutorials, commentaries, and reviews can definitely benefit from screencasting software, and this project has piqued my interest to maybe try it out myself.

8 thoughts on “Video Editing: Screencasting & e-Portfolios

  1. mayagalia March 7, 2015 / 6:57 pm

    I thought your video was very professional, both in looks and in sound. I think you were very clear on what the negatives and positives were for each blog. I agree about everything you said on the fashion blog. Especially biography page and her lack of social media links.

    Like

  2. Valerie Quintana March 7, 2015 / 9:31 pm

    Hi Erica! I really adore your video very much! I really like the introduction and credits window using the same style and color scheme for both. Was that a default option on Windows Movie Maker or did you make that yourself? Either way, it looks very nice. I like how you pinpointed certain things on each page for what you like and did not like. Using text in certain parts of the video gave it a nice touch as well. I cannot think of anything else that you could have done to make this video better. Good job!

    Like

  3. jas844 March 7, 2015 / 11:16 pm

    Your video came out great. It seemed very professionally put together and your voice was very clear. I also, like how you added a little music bed under your voice, I think that was a very great touch and made things more interesting. Also, I feel like it helped take away focus from the quality due to your mic, but it still came out clear for a laptop mic.Good job!

    Like

  4. jaclynliccone March 8, 2015 / 1:17 am

    You did a very good job on your video. It was well put together and your voice sounded extremely natural on it. I liked the two eportfolios that you chose and thought that you did a great job comparing them. The background music added a nice touch to it as well and I think that adding text in certain parts of the video gave it a little something extra too. Good job!

    Like

  5. ebeaufort March 8, 2015 / 2:24 am

    Wow this is very impressive! I think your execution in completing the assigned task was above and beyond. Your background track in combination with your enthusiasm really made this fairly interesting to watch. Both of the portfolios received equal amount of attention and you were very fair in your comparison. This is a job well done.

    Like

  6. staceyshewitz March 8, 2015 / 3:43 am

    This video is really good, definitely a lot better than mine. I’m really impressed with the music behind the voice-over, it makes the video more interesting and doesn’t take away from the talking. It uses the skills that we learned last week in class, so good job combining both this week and last week’s work! I also really liked the eportfolios you chose, they were both aesthetically pleasing.

    Like

  7. andrewc1120 March 8, 2015 / 4:50 am

    I think your video was extremely well made. Right off the bat I can see that a lot of editing was done. Your narration voice made it seem as though I was watching an actual youtube show. I also think the text overlays to signify your points was a great touch. The only thing I would say is that the audio levels of the video seem a bit off at certain points of the video.

    Like

  8. spinto92 March 8, 2015 / 3:36 pm

    I really liked your video. I thought it was really well put together. There was a lot of editing done which I think is great. I especially liked the text that you compiled over the actual video. I thought that was a really cool feature. The narration was the only thing that I would try to do better. Not because it wasn’t clear, just because it wasn’t audible at certain points during the video. But other than that I think its a great post and I really enjoyed watching it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

